Top 5 Rugby Union Tournaments for Betting

Union rugby, which originated in the United Kingdom and is commonly referred to simply as rugby, is one of the most popular sports worldwide.

Close-contact sports also draw large crowds and receive significant attention from betting platforms.

With hundreds of events worldwide, however, not all rugby competitions receive the same level of statistics and betting markets. Here is our list of the top 5 tournaments with extensive markets and thrilling betting experiences.

Six Countries

The Six Nations Championship, sponsored by Guinness, is an annual competition involving some of Europe’s most prominent rugby-playing countries. It is the most prestigious international rugby competition in the Northern Hemisphere, and some argue the most important in the world.

The tournament has been held every year since 1883 and was previously known as the Five Nations until Italy joined in 2000. England, France, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales are the other countries competing in the Six Nations.

England and Wales have the most victories, though England has more overall titles. However, Scotland and Italy have not won any titles since their inclusion. Furthermore, France was declared the 2022 champion after defeating England in the finals in Paris, securing their first victory in over a decade.

There is also a Women’s Six Nations, which began in 2001-02 and features the same six countries as the men’s version, but is less popular. It was frequently held concurrently with the men’s Six Nations until 2021, when the two were separated due to COVID-19 restrictions. England won the 2022 World Cup.

Any Six Nations event will have well over 50 betting markets. However, when staking months before the tournament, you will usually only be able to bet on the outright winner. This pattern can be found in a variety of sports and competitions.

The Rugby World Cup

The Rugby Championship is contested annually by the four highest-ranking rugby-playing countries in the southern hemisphere: New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, and Argentina. The tournament was known as the Tri Nations until Argentina joined in 2012.

New Zealand has the most victories (19), including the 2022 championship. South Africa finished second, while Argentina finished last. Argentina also has the fewest victories. Nonetheless, it has only been in the tournament for ten years, whereas the others have been competing for the title for more than two decades.

The Rugby Championship has approximately 12 matches and a total attendance of approximately 463,702, implying approximately 38,642 spectators per match. Most of the best rugby union betting sites offer live streaming of the games.

Over 50 betting markets are available for Rugby Championship events, including popular ones like match odds, half-time results, try scorer, winning margin, first-half point range, and point range.

World Rugby Cup

The Rugby World Cup, a men’s tournament that began in 1987 and is held every four years, is the pinnacle of international union rugby. It is run by World Rugby, the sport’s international governing body.

This tournament typically features 20 nations and 48 matches. However, due to Typhoon Hagibis, which canceled three games in Japan, only 45 games were played in the 2019 edition.

South Africa won the 2019 World Cup, which was held at the International Stadium Yokohama in Kanagawa. South Africa is only one of two countries to have hosted and won this tournament.

Furthermore, despite the fact that this tournament has been around for over 35 years, has been played 9 times, and involves more than 20 national teams, only four countries have won up to the 2019 edition. New Zealand and South Africa (three times each), Australia (twice), and England are among them (once).

The Rugby World Cup is appealing to rugby fans because it features over 40 matches and at least 20 teams in a single tournament. Add about 60 betting markets on any single event from bookmakers like William Hill, and you have an infinite number of wagering options.

Rugby in the English Premiership

The English Premiership Rugby tournament, not to be confused with the famous English Premier League for football, is Europe’s top division of the rugby union system. This tournament is also known as the Gallagher Premiership, which has been its official name for sponsorship reasons.

The competition, which began in 1987, is held each year. It currently consists of 13 clubs competing in 22 rounds, attracting up to 82,000 stadium attendees and millions of viewers on BT Sport and ITV.

However, the tournament has featured 28 clubs in total, with Leicester Tigers, Bath, Wasps, and Gloucester appearing in every season since its inception.

Leicester Tigers won the 2021/22 cup, succeeding Harlequins. Leicester Tigers also have the most Gallagher Premiership titles.

You can watch the tournament live on popular betting sites like BetUK. At the same time, Betfair will provide you with the most betting markets.

Sevens World Cup (RCWCS)

The World Cup Sevens, a rugby union variant involving seven players on each side, would be incomplete without it. It is a four-year world championship, similar to the Rugby World Cup. Aside from the summer Olympics, it is also the sport’s highest level of competition.

The Rugby World Cup Sevens is usually attended by at least 30 countries, including England, South Africa, the United States, New Zealand, Canada, Fiji, Kenya, China, France, Madagascar, Spain, Uruguay, and others.

Fiji was the defending champion after the 2022 competitions, having defeated former defending champions New Zealand in the finals in Cape Town.

It’s also worth noting that the World Cup Sevens includes a women’s tournament that runs concurrently with the men’s. In the 2022 finals, Australia won the women’s title. New Zealand was the previous reigning champion in the women’s category.

There are hundreds of sportsbooks that list the Rugby World Cup Sevens. Still, leading betting sites such as OKBET Sportsbook, bet365, and 888Sport will have the most comprehensive lists of betting markets and competitive odds.

For the tournament, William Hill and bet365 each have over 60 betting markets, while 888sport has at least 30 and Ladbrokes has about 20. These betting sites also offer higher percentage payouts of more than 96%.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *